Tabnine
AI coding tools · https://www.tabnine.com
Verdict: Hold · Confidence: medium · Reviewed 2026-10-15
Tabnine is an enterprise coding assistant that Tricentis acquired. CTech reported on July 31, 2026 that the deal was estimated at tens of millions of dollars and that financial terms were not disclosed. Tabnine said in September 2025 that it had over one million monthly users, deployments across thousands of organizations, and an $8 million round in April 2025 that brought total funding to $65 million. CTech separately said the company had raised $55 million. No ARR was disclosed by the company in the pages reviewed. The product is a real install base now inside Tricentis, and the reported exit price is modest.
Rubric
| Dimension | Score (1–5) | Notes & sources |
|---|---|---|
| Real customers & revenue quality Are there named paying customers, recurring revenue, and retention evidence? | 3/5 | Per Tabnine, the product had over one million monthly users and deployments across thousands of organizations as of September 17, 2025. No revenue or ARR figure was on that release. CTech did not disclose a purchase price beyond an estimate of tens of millions.
|
| Unit economics Do gross margins survive inference/compute costs? Is pricing durable? | Unknown | Unknown — no public figure found. |
| Moat Proprietary data, distribution, switching costs, or tech that is hard to copy? | 3/5 | Per Tabnine, the product supports SaaS, VPC, on-prem, and fully air-gapped deployment with customer-selected models. CTech says the Enterprise Context Engine is what Tricentis is buying for its quality platform. That is an enterprise-control wedge, not a model moat.
|
| Platform risk Could a model provider or incumbent ship this as a feature? (higher score = lower risk) | 2/5 | Tabnine now depends on Tricentis. CTech says existing customers keep support and the context engine moves into Tricentis's Agentic Quality Engineering Platform. Coding completion itself is a crowded layer next to GitHub Copilot.
|
| Team & execution Shipping cadence, leadership track record, stability. | 3/5 | Per CTech, Tabnine laid off 15 of 80 employees the prior year while shifting to enterprise, then was acquired. Tabnine's September 2025 release cites Gartner Visionary status and a long operating history. The exit happened; terms were not disclosed.
|
| Funding vs. traction Is capital raised justified by verifiable traction? | 2/5 | Per Tabnine, an $8 million round in April 2025 brought total funding to $65 million. Per CTech, raised capital was $55 million and the acquisition was estimated at tens of millions, with terms undisclosed. Those two funding totals conflict; neither page states revenue. The reported price is not above the capital raised.
|
| Hype signals Demo-driven marketing, vague metrics, valuation outrunning evidence? (higher score = fewer red flags) | 3/5 | Tabnine's own release is a Gartner placement and user counts, not a valuation spike. The acquisition write-up estimates price without a disclosed figure, which is a mild caution, not a hype cycle.
|
Listing source: https://www.tabnine.com. Revenue, users, and valuation figures appear only when publicly sourced; otherwise they are marked unknown.