Magic
AI coding tools · https://magic.dev
Verdict: Hype · Confidence: medium · Reviewed 2026-10-15
Magic says it is building frontier code models to automate software engineering and research. Its site, reviewed October 15, 2026, says it has thousands of GB200s and has raised $768 million. It does not list customers, revenue, or a product for sale. TechCrunch reported on August 29, 2024 that Magic had closed a $320 million round, had raised about $465 million in total, had about two dozen people, and had no revenue, with tools not yet for sale. Capital and compute are far ahead of any disclosed commercial traction.
Rubric
| Dimension | Score (1–5) | Notes & sources |
|---|---|---|
| Real customers & revenue quality Are there named paying customers, recurring revenue, and retention evidence? | Unknown | Unknown — no public figure found. The 2026 company homepage does not disclose revenue or customers. TechCrunch's August 29, 2024 report of no revenue is historical and is not treated as a current revenue figure. |
| Unit economics Do gross margins survive inference/compute costs? Is pricing durable? | Unknown | Unknown — no public figure found. |
| Moat Proprietary data, distribution, switching costs, or tech that is hard to copy? | 2/5 | Per the company site, the approach is frontier-scale pretraining, domain-specific reinforcement learning, ultra-long context, and inference-time compute, backed by thousands of GB200s. That is a research bet shared with better-capitalized labs, not a disclosed installed base.
|
| Platform risk Could a model provider or incumbent ship this as a feature? (higher score = lower risk) | 1/5 | Magic is training frontier code models, the same job as the large labs. TechCrunch in 2024 described the product as not yet for sale and compared it with GitHub Copilot. No later commercial wedge was on the homepage.
|
| Team & execution Shipping cadence, leadership track record, stability. | 2/5 | The homepage says a small group has raised $768 million and is hiring research and systems roles in San Francisco. TechCrunch reported about two dozen people and no product for sale in August 2024. Hiring continues; a shipped business was not disclosed.
|
| Funding vs. traction Is capital raised justified by verifiable traction? | 1/5 | Per Magic, capital raised is $768 million, with thousands of GB200s. Per TechCrunch, the August 2024 round was $320 million and total capital then was about $465 million, with no revenue. No revenue has been disclosed since.
|
| Hype signals Demo-driven marketing, vague metrics, valuation outrunning evidence? (higher score = fewer red flags) | 1/5 | The public face is an AGI research mission, a large GPU claim, and a fundraising total, without customers or revenue. TechCrunch already flagged the 2024 round as capital ahead of a product for sale.
|
Listing source: https://magic.dev. Revenue, users, and valuation figures appear only when publicly sourced; otherwise they are marked unknown.