Groq
Compute & inference infrastructure · https://groq.com
Verdict: Hold · Confidence: medium · Reviewed 2026-10-15
Groq builds inference chips and GroqCloud. It was not acquired. On December 24, 2025 Groq said it entered a non-exclusive license with Nvidia, that founder Jonathan Ross and president Sunny Madra would join Nvidia, and that Groq would remain independent under CEO Simon Edwards with GroqCloud continuing. Reuters said Groq did not disclose the license's financial terms. Reuters reported on September 17, 2025 that Groq raised $750 million, more than doubling its valuation to $6.9 billion. No revenue or margin was found on those pages.
Rubric
| Dimension | Score (1–5) | Notes & sources |
|---|---|---|
| Real customers & revenue quality Are there named paying customers, recurring revenue, and retention evidence? | 3/5 | Groq's September 2025 financing release said it is trusted by more than two million developers and many Fortune 500 companies. No revenue figure and no customer names were in the Reuters financing article or the license post.
|
| Unit economics Do gross margins survive inference/compute costs? Is pricing durable? | Unknown | Unknown — no public figure found. |
| Moat Proprietary data, distribution, switching costs, or tech that is hard to copy? | 2/5 | The LPU is Groq's differentiated hardware. The December 2025 post says Nvidia received a non-exclusive license to the inference technology and hired the founder and other team members. The remaining company still operates GroqCloud.
|
| Platform risk Could a model provider or incumbent ship this as a feature? (higher score = lower risk) | 2/5 | Nvidia licensed the technology and hired the technical leadership. Groq says it is still independent. A buyer is choosing a cloud whose core designers moved to the incumbent chip vendor.
|
| Team & execution Shipping cadence, leadership track record, stability. | 2/5 | Per Groq, Jonathan Ross and Sunny Madra joined Nvidia and Simon Edwards became CEO. Reuters said neither Nvidia nor Groq commented on a CNBC report of a $20 billion acquisition. The company's own account is a license plus leadership transfer, not a sale.
|
| Funding vs. traction Is capital raised justified by verifiable traction? | 2/5 | Per Reuters, the September 2025 round was $750 million and more than doubled the valuation to $6.9 billion from $2.8 billion after a $640 million round in August 2024. Revenue was not disclosed, so the valuation cannot be tied to sales.
|
| Hype signals Demo-driven marketing, vague metrics, valuation outrunning evidence? (higher score = fewer red flags) | 2/5 | Reuters reported that CNBC said Nvidia would acquire Groq for $20 billion and that Groq did not disclose financial details and described a license instead. Headline price and company account diverged.
|
Listing source: https://groq.com. Revenue, users, and valuation figures appear only when publicly sourced; otherwise they are marked unknown.